Home

Screen light

LET THERE BE LIGHT (Paula): As I popped my head around the door into my son’s darkened room to say goodnight, I saw his face illuminated from the screen glow. Ah-ah, I thought, that might work and grabbed my camera. And so, this photo came into being. It’s not perfect. I don’t understand my camera well enough for that. But it captures my moment of seeing his face lit up in the darkness.

The link to science is to the eye and how we see. In this photo, taken without a flash, the camera captures the light differently to how I’m seeing it. The screen glow becomes ethereal and there’s movement. I also find the light more tangible. I’d like to reach out and pull the strands towards me. The eye is our collector of light. It gives us sight. Without light there would be no sight.

Leave a comment